Medical spa EMR software is your clinical record: charts, injection face maps, signed consents and photos that must stand up to a medical director’s review. For most med spas, the strongest EMR is Pabau, the practice platform we build. It keeps face charts, lot numbers, signed consents and photos in one patient record.
We scored eight EMRs on an audit-ready chart test. It asks whether one injectable visit can be charted, traced to its lot, consented, photographed, signed and covered by a business associate agreement (BAA). Pabau is the only one whose own site confirms all eight checks.
Prospyr and OptiMantra follow at 7/8, and both document medical director co-sign and locked notes. OptiMantra publishes its price, from $99 a month.
Key takeaways
1. Pabau — the only EMR here whose own site confirms all eight checks, including a recall search by batch.
2. Prospyr — aesthetics-built charting with lot tracking, automatic stock deduction and notes that lock when signed.
3. OptiMantra — the same 7/8 with free medical director co-sign and a published price, built for wellness and IV-led practices.
4. PatientNow — photo charting where charted units update billing and inventory, backed by a published BAA.
5. AestheticsPro — signed consents, photos and a BAA at published prices, though no lot tracking is stated.
6. emilyEMR — lot numbers and strong photography for aesthetic and plastic surgery practices, with a BAA on request.
7. Zanda Health — signed, locked notes and a BAA for allied-health practices, though it isn’t built for injectables.
8. MDWare — consent linked to the day’s visit and photo charting, with an option to buy the software outright.
| EMR | Best for | Audit-ready score | Starting price (vendor site) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pabau | Injector-led med spas that want the whole injectable record in one place | 8/8 | Quote by team size, every feature on every plan |
| Prospyr | Self-pay aesthetic practices that want co-signed, locked notes | 7/8 | Quote on request |
| OptiMantra | Wellness, IV and hormone-led med spas | 7/8 | $99/month for the first practitioner |
| PatientNow | Practices mixing injectables with surgery, weight loss or wellness | 6/8 | Quote on request |
| AestheticsPro | Small to mid-size med spas that want a published price | 4/8 | $160/month for two users |
| emilyEMR | Aesthetic, plastic surgery and dermatology practices | 3/8 | Quote on request |
| Zanda Health | Allied-health practices adding a few aesthetic services | 2/8 | $19/month for one practitioner |
| MDWare | Med spas that want to own their software | 2/8 | Quote on request, or finance from $90/month |
If booking, memberships and checkout matter as much as the chart, see our ranking of the best medical spa software.
How the audit-ready chart test works
Picture one filler visit that later turns into a complaint, a recall notice or a state board inspection. The test asks whether the EMR could hand over a complete record of that visit.
Each EMR earns a point only when its own website or help center states the check. A dash means the vendor’s site doesn’t state the check. It doesn’t mean the product lacks it, so ask for a demo.
- Face chart with units per injection point: the injector marks each site on a face diagram or photo and logs the units given there.
- Lot number and expiration date: both are recorded against the treatment, so every syringe or vial can be traced.
- Recall search by lot: if a lot is recalled or a patient reacts, you can list every patient who received it.
- Signed consent tied to the visit: the patient e-signs a consent linked to that service or appointment, and it files to the chart.
- Before-and-after photos: treatment photos live on the patient record for side-by-side comparison.
- Units off stock: the units charted come off inventory without anyone typing them in twice.
- Provider-signed note with an audit trail: the provider signs the note, and the system logs who opened or changed the record.
- Signs a BAA: the vendor signs a HIPAA business associate agreement with a US practice.
Medical director co-sign and note locking sit outside the score. We credit both in each review where the vendor’s site describes them. The star rating on each provider card reflects this charting score only, not the whole product.
Here’s how the eight systems compare on the eight checks.

1. Pabau: Best EMR for charting, consent and photos in one record
The only EMR here whose own site confirms all eight audit-ready checks, recall search by lot included.
- Injector-led med spas
- Practices that need recall-ready lot tracking
- Teams that want consent, photos and notes on one record
- Multi-location groups
- Units per injection point with lot number and expiration date
- Recall search shows which patients received a batch
- Charted units come off stock automatically
- BAA for US practices at onboarding
- Pricing by quote, set by team size and location
- A full practice platform, not a standalone charting add-on
Pabau’s EMR lives on the client card, the patient record that holds each treatment note. The face chart, lot details, signed consent and photos for a visit all sit on that one card.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 8/8
With Pabau’s injection plotting tool, the injector taps an area of a face chart or the patient’s own photo. They pick the product, enter the units, and the record saves to the treatment note.
Every plotting record has fields for the batch (lot) number and expiration date. If a product is recalled or a patient reacts, you can see exactly which patients received that batch and when. The units logged also come off your inventory automatically.

Consent and intake forms link to specific services and appointment types, so the right consent is collected before that treatment. You can require forms before a booking is confirmed, and signed forms save to the client card.
Photos are captured on desktop, phone or tablet and stored on the client card at full resolution. Pabau’s before-and-after photo albums include timelines and comparison sliders, so progress reviews take seconds.

Practitioners save their signature once to their staff profile, then quick-sign treatment forms with it. Saved treatment forms appear in the EMR section of the client card, and audit trails log user activity across the platform.
Pabau Scribe, our AI scribe, listens during the consultation and turns it into a structured clinical note. Its Drug Agent flags allergies and contraindications before a prescription is written.

See Pabau Scribe in action:
US practices get a HIPAA business associate agreement as part of onboarding, covering the patient data held across the platform.
Who Pabau is best for
Injector-led med spas that want units, lot numbers, consent, photos and signatures on one record. It also suits groups that want the chart to drive stock counts and booking without a second system.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | Quote on request | 1 user | Every feature, unlimited patients |
| Team | Quote on request | 2–3 users | Every feature, unlimited patients |
| Medium | Quote on request | 4–5 users | Every feature, unlimited patients |
| Group | Quote on request | 6–15 users | Every feature, unlimited patients |
| Enterprise | Quote on request | 16+ users | Every feature, multi-location supported |
Every plan includes every feature, and plans differ only by the number of users. Pricing depends on your location, and you can compare the plans on Pabau’s pricing page.
2. Prospyr: Best for locked, co-signed aesthetic chart notes
Aesthetics-built charting that locks signed notes and supports medical director co-sign, though its site doesn't state a search by lot.
- Self-pay aesthetic practices
- Injector-led med spas with a medical director
- Teams that chart on iPad
- Practices that don't bill insurance
- Numbered injection points show the units used
- Lot number and expiration date required on stock
- Notes lock automatically when signed
- Medical director co-sign
- Search by lot not stated on its site
- Insurance billing not available yet
- No published pricing
Prospyr is an EMR for self-pay aesthetic practices running injectables, lasers, body and wellness programs. Booking and payments sit on the same record as the chart.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 7/8
- Photo markup places a numbered marker at each injection point, and the number shows the units used there.
- Products can require a lot number and expiration date when stock is added, and the lot used is chosen per appointment.
- Assigning a consumable to a marked location removes that quantity from the location’s inventory.
- Patients sign consents before the visit, the signed copy is stored on the chart, and a consent can require the provider’s signature.
- Before-and-after photos sit side by side in a tagged archive, with consent tracked for every use.
- A medical director can be assigned notes to review and co-sign.
- Notes lock automatically once the provider saves and signs, and the audit log shows who changed what and when.
- AI transcription turns visit audio into a chart draft that the provider reviews and signs.
Prospyr offers a BAA during onboarding review and e-prescribes through DoseSpot. It records the lot per appointment, but its site doesn’t state a search by lot. By its own account, insurance billing isn’t available yet.
Who Prospyr is best for
Self-pay med spas working under a medical director who wants to co-sign charts. It’s a strong pick for injector teams that chart on iPhone or iPad.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prospyr | Contact sales / no published pricing | Scoped per practice | Quote includes onboarding |
Prospyr doesn’t publish prices. It scopes each quote to the practice’s clinical and business workflow, including onboarding.
3. OptiMantra: Best for wellness and IV-led practices
A wellness-first EMR with free physician co-sign, lockable notes and a published price, though its site doesn't state a search by lot.
- Wellness, IV and hormone-led med spas
- Practices with a supervising physician
- Teams that bill some insurance
- Owners who want a published price
- Lot numbers and expiration dates in the chart
- Free co-signer for a supervising physician
- Notes lock with Lock & Sign
- BAA included in the license
- Search by lot not stated on its site
- Built integrative-medicine first
- E-prescribing is a paid add-on
OptiMantra is an EMR for integrative and wellness practitioners, with a med spa module for aesthetics, IVs and injections. Several of its charting details are documented in its help center rather than on its main site.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 7/8
- Annotatable face, muscle and body images let you chart injection sites and quantities inside the chart note.
- Product quantities, lot numbers and expiration dates are tracked from the charting screen, and lot number is required for items subject to recalls.
- Saving a formulation with the inventory option deducts the items used from stock.
- Consent forms can be set per appointment type, and staff can add their signature to the patient’s signed consent.
- Before-and-after photos support annotation and side-by-side views.
- You can assign a chart co-signer for a supervising physician at no extra subscription charge.
- Lock & Sign signs a note and locks it. Unlocking needs a reason, and addenda leave the original untouched.
- All access to the application and its data is logged in an audit table.
A BAA is included in the license. E-prescribing runs through MDToolbox on the Surescripts network, controlled substances included, for $38 a month per practitioner. Its site doesn’t state a search by lot.
Who OptiMantra is best for
Med spas led by IV therapy, hormones or weight loss that also need lab orders and some insurance billing. Its price is published, so you can budget before a demo.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| OptiMantra | $99/month | First practitioner | Full platform, monthly billing |
| Additional practitioner | $49/month | Each | Full platform |
| Clinical staff | $25/month | Each | Full platform |
| Clerical staff | Free | Unlimited | Front-desk access |
| eRx add-on | $38/month | Per practitioner | E-prescribing with EPCS |
Billing is monthly with no long-term contract and 30 days’ cancellation notice. OptiMantra also offers a 15-day free trial with no credit card.
4. PatientNow: Best for photo charting tied to billing and inventory
Charts injection units on the photo and feeds them to billing and inventory, though lot and expiration tracking isn't stated.
- Aesthetic practices mixing injectables and surgery
- Weight loss and wellness practices
- Teams heavy on before-and-after photography
- Groups that want AI SOAP notes
- Injection sites and units marked on the image
- Charted units update billing and inventory
- Providers sign every note before it files
- Published BAA
- Lot and expiration tracking not stated
- Medical director co-sign not stated as a feature
- E-prescribing listed on the top plan only
PatientNow is built for aesthetic practices and says more than 5,000 locations run on it. Its EMR and its RxPhoto photo system share one patient timeline.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 6/8
- Injection sites, units, treatment areas and notes are documented directly on the image.
- Charted injectable units update both billing and inventory.
- Forms and consents go out before the visit and file into the chart, and photos stay linked to the visit and its consent status.
- RxPhoto captures consistent photos with guided angles and ghosting, then compares them side by side or with a slider.
- Providers review, edit and sign each note draft before it files to the patient timeline, and audit trails track every action.
- An ambient AI scribe turns conversations into editable SOAP notes and is included in every plan.
PatientNow publishes its BAA, and its ePrescribe tool covers Schedule II–V prescribing. Lot and expiration tracking isn’t stated as a PatientNow feature.
Who PatientNow is best for
Practices that run injectables alongside surgery, weight loss or wellness and chart mostly on photos. Expect a quote rather than a list price.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | Contact sales / no published pricing | Quoted per practice | Before-and-after photos and core platform |
| Amplify | Contact sales / no published pricing | Quoted per practice | Adds marketing and automation |
| Catalyst | Contact sales / no published pricing | Quoted per practice | Full platform, including e-prescribing |
PatientNow doesn’t publish figures. It builds each quote around practice size, locations and the features needed.
5. AestheticsPro: Best for a large form library at a published price
Consent, photos, labeled e-signatures and a BAA at a published price, but no unit face chart or lot tracking is stated.
- Small to mid-size US med spas
- Practices that want hundreds of ready-made forms
- Teams that photograph on mobile
- Owners who want a listed price
- Consent forms triggered before appointments
- AP Photo with alignment guides and ghosting
- Digital signatures and Medical Director Authorization
- Signed BAA
- Units per injection point not stated
- Lot and expiration tracking not stated
- E-prescribing costs extra
AestheticsPro is medical spa software built for aesthetics, with an e-records module and its own photo app. Its feature list is broad, but the injectable details are thin on its site.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 4/8
- Digital consent forms can be triggered before appointments, and treatment notes connect to the appointment, provider and patient record.
- AP Photo, in its mobile app, captures before-and-after photos with alignment guides, ghosting and side-by-side comparisons.
- The e-records module lists digital signatures and Medical Director Authorization, and audit activity is tracked automatically.
- Its form library holds more than 500 customizable forms.
- It signs a BAA, and AP ERx adds e-prescribing for an extra fee.
Its site doesn’t state units per injection point, lot tracking or stock deduction from the chart. Ask to see each in a demo if injectables drive most of your revenue.
Who AestheticsPro is best for
Smaller US med spas that want a broad form library and a monthly price they can budget for. It fits practices where facials and body treatments outweigh injectables.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pro-Plus | $160/month | 2 users, $85/month per extra user, up to 3 | Core platform |
| Executive | $285/month | Unlimited | Multi-location support |
| Enterprise | $350/month | Unlimited | Custom API solutions |
Annual prepay brings the price down. E-prescribing, texting and marketing tools carry an additional fee.
6. emilyEMR: Best for lot-tracked injectables and photography
Injectable templates with lot numbers and strong photography, though expiration dates and provider signing aren't stated.
- Aesthetic and plastic surgery practices
- Dermatology practices
- Canadian practices
- Photo-heavy injector teams
- Lot numbers tracked for toxins and fillers
- Consent eForms added to the day's treatment
- Photo sliders and facial recognition tagging
- BAA on request
- Expiration date not stated
- Provider-signed note not stated
- E-prescribing not stated
emilyEMR is an EMR for aesthetic practices, plastic surgery and dermatology, run from Canada. Its data is hosted in Azure Canada, which US buyers may want to check.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 3/8
- Injection templates assign toxin or filler amounts per service and report dosing per area.
- Lot numbers are tracked for neurotoxins and filler syringes.
- Consent and treatment eForms are added to the day’s treatment, and signed forms sync to the patient record.
- Photography tools include side-by-side sliders, overlays and facial recognition tagging.
- Audit logging covers access, and a BAA is available on request.
Its site doesn’t state expiration dates, units on a face diagram, stock deduction from the chart or a provider-signed note. E-prescribing isn’t mentioned either.
Who emilyEMR is best for
Aesthetic and plastic surgery practices, especially in Canada, that lean on photography and want lot numbers on every syringe.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| emilyEMR | Contact sales / no published pricing | Quoted per practice | Depends on selected features |
emilyEMR doesn’t publish prices. Its pricing depends on practice size and the features selected.
7. Zanda Health: Best for allied-health practices that need locked notes
Signed, lockable notes and a BAA at a low published price, though it doesn't track stock and lot or units-per-point charting isn't stated.
- Allied-health and therapy practices
- Solo practitioners
- Practices with supervised trainees
- Wellness practices adding a few aesthetic services
- Typed signatures and supervisor co-sign on notes
- Save and Complete locks the note
- Audit logs and a BAA
- Low published price
- Doesn't track stock, by its own help center
- No lot or expiration field stated
- US e-prescribing not offered
Zanda Health, formerly Power Diary, is practice software for allied-health professions such as physical therapy and psychology. Its profession pages don’t include med spas or aesthetics.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 2/8
- Clinical notes take a typed signature, and supervisors can add their own signature to co-sign.
- Save and Complete locks a note, so only staff with the right access can edit it.
- Audit logs record access, and the BAA is part of its data processing agreement.
- Body charts and uploaded images can be annotated with arrows, text or freehand marks.
- Online forms collect e-signatures and save to the patient’s profile.
Its help center says Zanda doesn’t track stock on hand or remaining units. No lot or expiration field is stated, and forms save to the profile rather than the visit. E-prescribing is available in Australia only.
Who Zanda Health is best for
Physical therapy, chiropractic or wellness practices that add a few aesthetic services and want locked notes cheaply.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $19/month | 1 practitioner | Up to 1,000 appointments |
| Growth | $49/month base, plus $19 per additional practitioner | 1 to 100+ practitioners | Unlimited appointments and free users |
Prices are in US dollars, with a 14-day free trial and no credit card. AI Pro costs $19 per user per month, and Telehealth Pro costs $9 per practitioner.
8. MDWare: Best for med spas that want to own their software
Consent linked to the day's visit and good photo charting, with a buy-to-own option but no stated BAA.
- Canadian and US med spas
- Owners who prefer to buy software
- Teams that chart on tablets
- Photo-led aesthetic practices
- Consent saved to the chart for that day's visit
- Photo markup and side-by-side comparison
- Procedure chart templates with diagrams
- Complete audit trails
- BAA not mentioned on its site
- Lot tracking and units per point not stated
- Provider-signed note not stated
MDWare is a Canadian med spa platform, and its site says it has been building practice software for more than 30 years. It offers a buy-to-own license alongside monthly and annual plans.
Charting and documentation
Audit-ready chart score: 2/8
- Procedure chart templates hold the required fields, questions and diagrams for each service.
- Patients sign consents on a tablet, and the signed copy saves to the chart, linked to that day’s visit.
- Photos upload straight into the chart, where you can draw on them and compare visits side by side.
- The FAQ lists role-based access and complete audit trails.
- Inventory supports barcode scanning and low-stock reports.
Its site says stock comes off when the front desk sells a product, and deduction from the chart isn’t stated. Its site claims HIPAA compliance but doesn’t mention a BAA, lot tracking or a provider-signed note.
Who MDWare is best for
Med spas that would rather own their software than rent it, and that chart mostly on photos and consent forms.
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Users | Key inclusions |
|---|---|---|---|
| MDWare | Contact sales / custom quote | Quoted per practice | Monthly or annual plans, one-time setup fee |
| Finance to own | From $90/month | Not stated | Software ownership |
| One-time purchase | $5,000 per user | Per user | Software ownership |
MDWare quotes after a short call. The finance and one-time figures come from its own pricing page and blog.
What a med spa EMR must document
A med spa chart has to prove four facts about a visit: what was injected, where, with whose consent and under whose signature. These are the records to check in any demo.
Injectable face charts and lot tracking
Ask the vendor to chart a Botox visit in front of you. Units should sit on each injection point of the face chart, where a reviewer can read them at a glance. The product’s lot number and expiration date should save with the treatment.
Then ask for a search by lot. A recall notice gives you a lot number, and you’ll need every patient who received it. Pabau states this search on its site, and Prospyr and OptiMantra record the lot per visit.
Consent forms tied to each visit
A consent signed once at intake may not cover next year’s filler appointment. Look for consents linked to the service or appointment, signed before treatment and filed to that visit.
In Pabau, the Client Portal lets patients complete and e-sign forms before they arrive. Your front desk isn’t chasing clipboards at check-in, and you can block a booking until the forms are done.

Before-and-after photos with photo consent
Photos are your best evidence in a complaint about results. They should store on the patient record, with dates, and compare side by side.
Using a photo for marketing needs separate consent from the treatment itself. Prospyr, for example, tracks consent for every photo use, so ask how each vendor records it.
Patient records and locked notes
A chart isn’t finished until the provider signs it. After that, any change should leave a trace in an audit log.
Prospyr locks notes automatically on signing, OptiMantra locks them with Lock & Sign, and Zanda Health locks them on Save and Complete. Pabau keeps notes, forms and letters digital from the start, with audit trails across the platform.

Medical director oversight and chart sign-off
Many states require a medical director to oversee injectable treatments delivered by nurses or other staff. Check your state’s rules, then ask how the EMR routes charts for review.
Prospyr, OptiMantra and Zanda Health describe a co-sign workflow on their own sites. AestheticsPro lists Medical Director Authorization as a feature. For any other system, ask to see sign-off working in the demo.
HIPAA and the BAA
Any vendor that stores your patients’ health data must sign a business associate agreement with a US practice. Without one, the EMR shouldn’t hold patient records.
Seven of the eight systems here state a BAA. MDWare claims HIPAA compliance but doesn’t mention one on its site.
E-prescribing
E-prescribing isn’t part of the score, because it doesn’t document the injectable visit itself. It matters for med spas that prescribe weight loss or hormone treatments.
Pabau offers EPCS-ready US e-prescribing through its DoseSpot integration, launched from the client card. Prospyr also uses DoseSpot, and OptiMantra adds e-prescribing with controlled substances for $38 a month per practitioner. AestheticsPro charges extra for AP ERx, and PatientNow lists it on its top Catalyst plan. Zanda Health offers it in Australia only, and neither emilyEMR nor MDWare mentions it.
How Pabau keeps every injectable visit audit-ready
Without one record, a visit gets pieced together from a paper face chart, a consent PDF and photos on a phone. When a recall notice or complaint arrives, someone spends an afternoon matching them up.
In Pabau, the injector plots units on the face chart, and the lot number and expiration date save with them. The signed consent, the photos and the practitioner’s signature sit on the same client card.
Because the chart drives stock and booking too, Pabau’s med spa management software keeps inventory counts in step with what was injected. Every plan includes every feature, and onboarding is structured around your services.
Chart every injectable visit audit-ready
Pabau records units per injection point with lot number and expiration date, and links signed consent and photos to the same record. When a recall arrives, you can find every patient who received that batch.

Conclusion
Pick the EMR that would let you answer a recall notice in minutes. That means units on each point, a lot number with its expiration date and a consent signed for that visit.
If a medical director co-signs your charts, route a test chart to them in every demo you book. If you need the whole injectable record traceable from one search, Pabau is the strongest fit.
Run one test visit through each shortlisted system before you sign. Book a demo to see Pabau chart a filler visit from face map to recall search.
Continue your research
Need a consent form for Kybella? Kybella consent form template documents patient understanding of risks such as marginal mandibular nerve injury.
Offering fat-dissolving injections? Lemon Bottle consent form template covers the risks, side effects and aftercare to record before treatment.
Comparing EMRs beyond med spas? Aesthetic EMR software reviews the charting systems built for wider aesthetic practices.
Running an aesthetic practice? Best aesthetic clinic software ranks the platforms that handle booking and records for aesthetic clinics.
Opening a med spa in the UAE? Medical spa software in the UAE covers the systems and rules for practices in the Emirates.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best EMR for a medical spa?
Pabau is the best EMR for most medical spas, because its site confirms all eight audit-ready chart checks. Prospyr and OptiMantra follow closely and suit practices that need medical director co-sign built into the chart.
How much does medical spa EMR software cost?
Published prices start at $19 a month for Zanda Health and $99 a month for OptiMantra’s first practitioner. AestheticsPro runs from $160 to $350 a month. Pabau, Prospyr, PatientNow, emilyEMR and MDWare price by quote.
What is the difference between a medical spa EMR and practice management software?
A medical spa EMR holds the clinical record: face charts, consents, photos and signed notes. Practice management software runs booking, payments and stock. Platforms such as Pabau combine both, so the chart updates inventory and billing.
Is Boulevard an EMR for medical spas?
Boulevard calls itself a booking and client experience platform, and says it combines many clinical capabilities med spas expect from an EMR. It offers forms, photo markup, supervisor sign-off and a BAA on request. Its site doesn’t mention units per point, lot numbers or locked notes.
Is there a free EMR for med spas?
None of the eight EMRs here offers a free plan. OptiMantra has a 15-day free trial and Zanda Health a 14-day one. OpenEMR is free and open source, but you handle HIPAA hosting yourself and its site doesn’t mention aesthetic charting.
Which med spa EMR tracks lot numbers for recalls?
Pabau records the lot number and expiration date on each injection record and can show which patients received a batch. Prospyr and OptiMantra record lot and expiration date, and emilyEMR tracks lot numbers.



