Pabau Engage inbox

Pabau Engage is here: every patient conversation in one inbox.

Learn more
Book a demo Book a demo
☰
CPT Code

CPT code 64454 – Genicular nerve block injection

Billable Code


Code Definition

64454 is the CPT code for injection(s), anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid; genicular nerve branches, including imaging guidance, when performed. It covers a genicular nerve block of one knee, done for pain relief or as a test before ablation. The code is reported as one unit per knee.

Most denials on this code trace back to documentation. Either the procedure note doesn't name the genicular branches injected, or the diagnosis code doesn't match a covered knee indication. The third common cause is imaging guidance billed separately, although the code already includes it.

Section
10004-69990 Surgery
Subsection
61000-64999 Nervous system
Code range
64400-64489 Introduction/injection of anesthetic agent (nerve block), diagnostic or therapeutic procedures on the somatic nerves
Billable
Yes
Code also known as
genicular nerve block, knee nerve block
Save time. Improve accuracy. Get paid faster.
Automate coding with Pabau

Let Pabau's smart automation suggest the right codes, reduce claim denials, and keep your practice compliant—effortlessly.

  • AI-powered code suggestions
  • Real-time compliance checks
  • Faster claims, fewer denials
Why practices choose Pabau
Save hours every week

Automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters most—your patients.

Improve accuracy

Reduce coding errors and ensure compliance with the latest regulations.

Get paid faster

Clean claims, fewer denials, and faster reimbursements.

Grow with confidence

Powerful insights and reporting to help your practice thrive.

HIPAA compliant SOC 2 certified GDPR-compliant Trusted by 4,000+ clinics worldwide

Key takeaways

Key takeaways

CPT code 64454 covers anesthetic and/or steroid injection into the genicular nerve branches of the knee, and no other nerve site.

The code expects the superolateral, superomedial, and inferomedial branches to be injected. Report fewer than three with modifier 52.

Use CPT 64455 for a Morton’s neuroma injection and 64450 for other peripheral nerves without a more specific code.

Imaging guidance is included in 64454, so never add 76942 or 77002 to the same claim.

Aetna’s CPB 0863 lists 64454 as experimental and investigational, so check payer policy before the procedure is booked.

Practice management software like Pabau can check code pairings and payer rules before submission, which cuts avoidable 64454 denials.

CPT code 64454: official descriptor and procedure overview

CPT code 64454 is described by the American Medical Association as: Injection(s), anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid; genicular nerve branches, including imaging guidance, when performed. The code was new in CPT 2020 and sits in the 64400-64489 somatic nerve block range. It describes one procedure at one site: blocking the genicular nerve branches that carry pain signals from the knee.

Field Detail
Code 64454
Code family 64400-64489 (Introduction/Injection of Anesthetic Agent (Nerve Block), Somatic Nerves)
Primary sites Genicular nerve branches of the knee: superolateral, superomedial, and inferomedial
Agent covered Anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid
Imaging guidance Included in the code when performed; not reported separately
Global period 000 (0 days, per Medicare Physician Fee Schedule)

Before 2020, genicular nerve blocks were reported with 64450, the catch-all peripheral nerve code. A charge sheet built before that change may still map the knee block to 64450, which is now the wrong code. CPT 64454 is the only correct choice for this injection.

What procedures does CPT 64454 cover?

CPT 64454 covers one procedure: a genicular nerve block of the knee, done for treatment or as a diagnostic test. Knowing its limits prevents both under-coding (using the less specific 64450) and over-coding (claiming 64454 for nerve sites outside its descriptor).

Genicular nerve block (knee)

The genicular nerve block targets the superolateral, superomedial, and inferomedial genicular nerve branches that supply the knee joint. It is used for chronic knee pain from osteoarthritis and for persistent pain after knee replacement. Candidates usually cannot have surgery or have exhausted conservative options.

The physician places the needle beside each nerve branch at the bone surface, usually under fluoroscopic or ultrasound guidance. CPT guidelines expect all three branches to be injected. The code is reported once per knee, whatever the number of branches treated.

Diagnostic block before genicular nerve ablation

Many genicular blocks are done as a test before radiofrequency ablation. The physician injects local anesthetic alone and records how much the knee pain drops over the following hours. A strong response supports the later ablation, which is billed with CPT 64624, not 64454.

Record the pain scores before and after the block in the note. Payers reviewing a later 64624 claim often ask for that result first.

What CPT 64454 does not cover: exclusions and limitations

Miscoding 64454 for out-of-scope procedures is one of the most common denial triggers on this code. The following are explicitly outside the descriptor.

  • Genicular nerve destruction: Radiofrequency ablation or chemical neurolysis of the genicular nerve branches is reported with CPT 64624. 64454 covers diagnostic and therapeutic anesthetic or steroid injections only.
  • Morton’s neuroma injections: Injection of the plantar common digital nerve in the foot is a separate code, CPT 64455.
  • Other nerve sites: Injections at the femoral nerve (64447-64448), sciatic nerve (64445-64446), or other peripheral nerves need their own, more appropriate code.
  • Trigger point injections: Muscle trigger points fall under CPT 20552-20553, not nerve injection codes.
  • Joint injections: Intra-articular knee injections (20610) are coded separately; 64454 targets the nerve, not the joint space.

When the procedure does not fit any named nerve code, CPT 64999 (unlisted procedure, nervous system) is the fallback. Using it unnecessarily increases audit risk, so reserve it for services no named code describes. The table below maps each knee and nerve injection to the code it takes.

Decision table for knee and nerve injection coding: genicular nerve branch anesthetic or steroid injection reports 64454, one unit per knee; imaging guidance gets no separate line (not 76942, 77002 or 77012); genicular ablation 64624; intra-articular knee injection 20610; Morton's neuroma 64455; femoral 64447-64448 and sciatic 64445-64446; trigger points 20552-20553; other peripheral nerve 64450; unlisted 64999.
Only the genicular branch injection reports 64454, and its imaging guidance never gets a claim line of its own. Codes follow the AMA CPT descriptors cited in this article.

CPT 64454 vs CPT 64450: key differences and when to use each

CPT 64450 covers injection into “other peripheral nerve or branch,” making it the default when no more specific code exists. CPT code 64454 is the more specific code and takes precedence when the procedure targets the genicular nerve branches. Using 64450 for a genicular block is a coding error.

Factor CPT 64454 CPT 64450
Official descriptor Injection(s), anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid; genicular nerve branches, including imaging guidance, when performed Injection(s), anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid; other peripheral nerve or branch
Anatomical scope Genicular nerve branches of the knee only Any peripheral nerve not covered by a more specific code
Specificity Site-specific; three named branches expected General fallback for unnamed nerve sites
Imaging guidance Included in the code Separately billable per payer rules
When to use Procedure targets the genicular nerve branches of the knee Procedure targets a peripheral nerve not named in a more specific code

If the documentation names the genicular nerve branches as the injection site, 64454 is required. Defaulting to 64450 for convenience is an improper code selection. According to the AAPC’s CPT code reference, more specific codes always take precedence over the “other” fallback when the clinical documentation supports them.

Selecting the correct peripheral nerve injection code means knowing the neighboring codes. The table below covers the codes coders most often compare against CPT 64454 in pain management and orthopedic settings.

Code Descriptor (abbreviated) Anatomical site
64405 Injection, anesthetic agent; greater occipital nerve Occipital / head
64421 Injection, anesthetic agent; intercostal nerve, each additional level Intercostal / thorax
64430 Injection, anesthetic agent; pudendal nerve Pudendal / perineum
64447 Injection, anesthetic agent; femoral nerve, single Femoral / anterior thigh
64450 Injection, anesthetic agent; other peripheral nerve or branch Any unlisted peripheral nerve
64454 Injection(s), anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid; genicular nerve branches, including imaging guidance, when performed Genicular nerve branches / knee
64455 Injection(s), anesthetic agent(s) and/or steroid; plantar common digital nerve(s) (eg, Morton’s neuroma) Plantar common digital nerve / foot
64624 Destruction by neurolytic agent, genicular nerve branches including imaging guidance, when performed Genicular nerve branches / knee
20610 Arthrocentesis, aspiration and/or injection, major joint or bursa; without ultrasound guidance Knee joint space (intra-articular)
64999 Unlisted procedure, nervous system Any nerve procedure not otherwise specified

Imaging guidance with CPT 64454: why 76942 is not billed

The CPT 64454 descriptor states “including imaging guidance, when performed,” so guidance is part of the code. Ultrasound (76942), fluoroscopy (77002), and CT guidance (77012) are not reported separately. Medicare and most commercial payers deny them as bundling violations.

Guidance still belongs in the procedure note, even though it never appears on the claim. Name the modality and state that each needle position was confirmed on imaging. That record supports medical necessity if the claim is reviewed.

Pro Tip

Check your charge capture rules. If your system adds a guidance code to every nerve block automatically, set an exception for 64454 so 76942 or 77002 never reaches the claim.

Documentation requirements for CPT 64454

Thin documentation is the single biggest cause of 64454 claim denials. The procedure note must support every element of the code descriptor. A note that says “nerve block performed to the knee” is not enough. Payers expect the named nerve, the agent, and the clinical rationale.

Required elements for a defensible 64454 claim:

  • Named nerve branches: Each genicular branch injected (superolateral, superomedial, inferomedial), and the reason if fewer than three were treated
  • Agent and dosage: The anesthetic agent (e.g., bupivacaine 0.25%, 3 mL) and/or steroid (e.g., methylprednisolone 40 mg) with volume and concentration
  • Laterality: Which knee was treated, or both, matching the modifier on the claim
  • Medical necessity narrative: Documentation of prior conservative treatment failure (physical therapy, oral medications, prior injections) that supports the indication
  • Guidance method: Whether imaging guidance was used, and if so, confirmation that permanent images were stored and a report generated
  • Provider credentials: The treating provider’s credentials and NPI documented in the record
  • Response notation: Some payers require documentation of the patient’s response to prior injections before authorizing repeat procedures

Pain management practices using practice management software like Pabau can build procedure templates that prompt clinicians for each required note element during the visit. With Pabau’s error-checked claims management, the claim is built from that same note. The branches and agent recorded at the bedside reach the claim line unchanged.

Fully Integrated with Pabau Billing
Pabau keeps billing in the same record as the procedure note, so the genicular branches you document support the 64454 claim line.

ICD-10 diagnosis codes commonly paired with CPT 64454

The diagnosis code paired to a 64454 claim must support medical necessity for a knee procedure. Payers cross-reference the ICD-10 code against their covered indication list. A diagnosis for the wrong knee, or one outside the knee, will trigger a denial.

ICD-10-CM code Description Injection site
M25.561 Pain in right knee Genicular (knee)
M25.562 Pain in left knee Genicular (knee)
M17.11 Primary osteoarthritis, right knee Genicular (knee)
M17.12 Primary osteoarthritis, left knee Genicular (knee)
M17.0 Bilateral primary osteoarthritis of knee Genicular (knee)
M17.31 Unilateral post-traumatic osteoarthritis, right knee Genicular (knee)
M17.32 Unilateral post-traumatic osteoarthritis, left knee Genicular (knee)

Some payers require laterality-specific codes (right vs. left) rather than bilateral or unspecified variants. Check the payer’s local coverage determination (LCD) on the CMS ICD-10 codes page for covered diagnosis lists before submitting. A superbill that pairs each ICD-10 code with its CPT line catches mismatches before claims reach the payer.

Medicare reimbursement rates and RVU values for CPT 64454

Medicare pays about $235 for CPT 64454 in an office setting and about $73 in a facility in 2026, before geographic adjustment. Non-facility rates apply in an office, and facility rates apply in an ASC or hospital. The figures below come from the CMS 2026 relative value file (October release) at the $33.4009 conversion factor.

Rates change every January 1, so check the CMS Physician Fee Schedule lookup tool before you quote them.

RVU component Non-facility Facility
Work RVU 1.48 1.48
Practice expense RVU 5.42 0.58
Malpractice RVU 0.13 0.13
Total RVUs 7.03 2.19
2026 national Medicare payment About $234.81 (before GPCI) About $73.15 (before GPCI)

Geographic Practice Cost Index (GPCI) adjustments move these figures up or down by practice location. High-cost urban markets typically pay above the national average, and rural areas pay below it. Commercial payers commonly set their fee schedules as a percentage of Medicare rates. That figure often ranges from 110% to 200%, depending on the plan and contract. The full data set sits in the CMS relative value files.

Modifiers for CPT 64454: bilateral, multiple injections, and laterality

Correct modifier use is essential for CPT 64454 claims. It matters most when both knees are injected, or fewer than three branches, on the same date of service. Modifier errors rank among the top denial reasons for this code.

  • Modifier 50 (bilateral procedure): Append modifier 50 when genicular nerve injections are performed on both knees during the same session. Some payers require that the code be reported on two lines with RT and LT modifiers instead of a single line with modifier 50. Verify the payer’s preferred billing format before submitting.
  • Modifiers LT and RT (laterality): When only one side is injected, append LT (left side) or RT (right side) to specify laterality. Many Medicare contractors and commercial plans require laterality modifiers on extremity codes.
  • Modifier 52 (reduced services): Append modifier 52 when fewer than all three genicular branches are injected. State in the note which branch was skipped and why.
  • Modifier 59 (distinct procedural service): Use modifier 59 when 64454 is performed alongside a different procedure on the same date and would otherwise be bundled. Document the distinct anatomical site or separate procedure in the note.
  • Units vs. multiple injections: Injecting all three genicular branches of one knee is reported as one unit of 64454, not three. Reporting multiple units for a single-site, multi-branch injection is an upcoding error.

For practices with high nerve injection volumes, modifier rules belong at the claim-build stage. Catching a missing LT/RT modifier before submission takes seconds. Correcting it after a denial costs staff time and delays payment by weeks.

Payer coverage policies for CPT 64454: Medicare, Aetna, and BCBS

Coverage for CPT code 64454 varies sharply by payer, from conditional approval to no coverage at all. Before scheduling the procedure, verify coverage and authorization requirements with the specific plan.

Medicare (CMS)

CMS published Billing and Coding Article A57452 covering peripheral nerve blocks including 64454. Medicare generally requires documented failure of conservative treatment before approving genicular nerve blocks. Coverage is subject to LCDs that vary by MAC jurisdiction. Check the CMS Medicare Coverage Database for the LCD governing your specific MAC region.

Aetna

Aetna Clinical Policy Bulletin 0863 lists genicular nerve block as experimental and investigational. It places CPT 64454 among the codes not covered for the indications in the bulletin, so no amount of documentation makes the claim payable. Aetna reviews its bulletins periodically, so confirm the current version before booking an Aetna patient.

BCBS Florida

BCBS Florida Medical Coverage Guideline MCG 02-61000-29 outlines nerve block injection coverage criteria. BCBS Florida typically requires documented conservative treatment failure (physical therapy, oral analgesics) before approving genicular nerve blocks. It may also limit injection frequency per plan year.

A real-time insurance eligibility check before each appointment confirms whether the patient’s plan covers 64454 and needs prior authorization. That check stops a procedure being performed and later denied for a missing authorization number.

Top reasons CPT 64454 claims are denied

Most 64454 denials are preventable. The following patterns account for the majority of rejections seen in pain management and orthopedic billing, based on common coder queries and payer edit patterns.

  • Non-specific anatomical documentation: The note says “knee nerve block” without naming the genicular branches injected. Payer reviewers cannot confirm code accuracy without the named nerves.
  • Missing medical necessity narrative: No documentation of prior conservative treatment failure. Most payers require evidence of failed PT, oral medications, or prior injections before approving a nerve block.
  • Bundling violation with guidance code: Billing CPT 76942 or 77002 alongside 64454, where the descriptor already includes guidance. The guidance code is denied and sometimes triggers a review of the base code.
  • Incorrect or missing modifier: Bilateral injections are submitted without modifier 50 or LT/RT, or multiple units are reported for one knee. Fewer than three branches billed without modifier 52 is another trigger.
  • Non-covered ICD-10 pairing: A diagnosis code that doesn’t appear on the payer’s covered indication list for nerve blocks. Common examples: unspecified joint pain codes without more specific laterality, or using an injury code (S-prefix) when a chronic condition code is required.
  • Frequency limit exceeded: Some payers limit nerve block injections to a set number per plan year. Exceeding that threshold without a prior authorization or clinical exception triggers an automatic denial.
  • Missing prior authorization: BCBS and several regional plans require prior authorization for genicular nerve blocks. Submitting without it results in a denial that is difficult to appeal retroactively.
  • Non-covered payer policy: Aetna CPB 0863 lists the genicular nerve block as experimental and investigational. An Aetna claim for 64454 is denied as non-covered, however complete the note is.

Tracking denials by CPT code separates systemic issues from one-off errors. Each denial comes back with a reason code, and the guide to medical billing denial codes explains how to read them. Grouping 64454 denials by those codes shows a pattern before it spreads across hundreds of claims.

How practice management software supports accurate CPT 64454 billing

A correctly performed genicular block still goes unpaid when the note or the claim build misses a detail. Practice management software with integrated billing puts the coding rules into the clinical workflow, so the detail is caught at the point of care.

For 64454, three capabilities matter most:

  • Code-pairing validation: It flags a 76942 or 77002 line, since the 64454 descriptor already includes guidance.
  • Documentation templates: They prompt for the named branches and the agent at the point of care.
  • Superbill configuration: It pre-loads the correct ICD-10 pairings for each procedure type.

Pabau’s integration with the Claim.MD clearinghouse adds a pre-submission scrub. It checks each claim against payer-specific edits for over 4,000 US payers before it leaves the practice.

Denial reports broken down by CPT code show when 64454 denials cluster around one provider, payer, or missing note element. Reviewing them each quarter lets the billing team fix a pattern before the next batch of claims goes out. The same review supports medical billing compliance, which lowers audit risk as well as denial risk.

Pro Tip

Run a quarterly denial audit filtered by CPT 64454. If more than 15% of claims for this code are denied, look at three causes first. They are missing branch names in the note, the wrong ICD-10 pairing, and a bundling edit on a guidance code. Start with documentation review before assuming the payer policy has changed.

Reduce CPT 64454 denials with smarter billing workflows

Pabau’s integrated claims management tools help pain management and orthopedic practices validate code pairings, enforce modifier rules, and submit cleaner claims through the Claim.MD clearinghouse. See how it works for nerve injection billing.

Pabau practice management platform for billing workflows

Conclusion

CPT 64454 rarely goes wrong at code selection. It goes wrong in the procedure note and the claim build. If your charge sheet still maps knee blocks to 64450, or adds a guidance code automatically, change those two rules first. They take minutes to fix and remove the most avoidable denials on this code.

Then check payer policy before the block is booked, not after the claim comes back. Aetna won’t pay for it under CPB 0863, so a denial there says nothing about your documentation.

Book a demo to see how Pabau builds each 64454 claim from the procedure note and checks it before it reaches the payer.

Continue your research

Continue your research

Need to understand the broader clearinghouse workflow? How medical claims clearinghouses work explains the end-to-end submission path from practice to payer.

Tracking denial reasons across your CPT code mix? Denial codes in medical billing breaks down CARC and RARC codes so you can act on rejection data systematically.

Want to benchmark your billing compliance posture? Medical billing compliance essentials covers documentation standards, audit risk management, and payer policy review cycles.

Building a pre-submission checklist? What makes a clean claim lists the fields and edits a claim has to pass before the payer accepts it.

Injecting the knee joint instead of the nerves? CPT code 20610 covers major joint injection and aspiration, the code 64454 is most often confused with.

Frequently asked questions

What does CPT code 64454 cover?

CPT code 64454 covers injection of anesthetic agent and/or steroid into the genicular nerve branches of the knee, with imaging guidance included. It does not cover other nerve sites, genicular nerve ablation (64624), Morton’s neuroma injections (64455), joint injections, or trigger point injections.

What is the difference between CPT 64454 and CPT 64450?

CPT 64454 is a site-specific code for genicular nerve injections of the knee. CPT 64450 is the general fallback for “other peripheral nerve or branch” without a more specific code. Using 64450 for a genicular block is a coding error.

Does CPT 64454 require imaging guidance to be billed separately?

No. The 64454 descriptor includes imaging guidance when performed, so ultrasound (76942) and fluoroscopic guidance (77002) are not billed separately. Document the guidance in the procedure note, but keep it off the claim.

Can CPT 64454 be billed bilaterally?

Yes. Bilateral genicular nerve injections are reported with modifier 50, or on two separate lines with LT and RT modifiers, depending on the payer’s preferred format. Don’t report multiple units for the three branches of one knee. That is one unit, with a modifier showing laterality.

What are the Medicare reimbursement rates for CPT 64454?

In 2026, Medicare pays about $235 for CPT 64454 in a non-facility setting and about $73 in a facility, at national rates before GPCI adjustment. Those figures come from 7.03 and 2.19 total RVUs. Verify current rates in the CMS Physician Fee Schedule lookup tool, as they update each January 1.

Why would a claim for CPT 64454 be denied?

The most common reason is a procedure note that does not name the genicular branches injected. Others are an ICD-10 code missing from the payer’s covered list, a separately billed guidance code, or a missing prior authorization. An Aetna claim is denied because CPB 0863 does not cover the block.

When should CPT 64999 be used instead of CPT 64454?

CPT 64999 (unlisted procedure, nervous system) applies when the nerve injection performed does not fit the 64454 descriptor or any other named nerve code. Using 64999 requires a special report submitted with the claim explaining the procedure and its relationship to a comparable code for pricing. Use 64999 only when necessary. Unnecessary use increases audit risk and slows reimbursement.

×