Pabau Engage inbox

Pabau Engage is here: every patient conversation in one inbox.

Learn more
Book a demo Book a demo
☰
HCPCS Code

HCPCS code T2030 – Assisted living services, per month


Code Definition

T2030 is the HCPCS Level II code for assisted living, waiver; per month. One unit covers a full month of assisted living services for a resident enrolled in a Medicaid home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver. Medicare does not pay it.

The detail that matters most is the unit. States that price assisted living by the day use T2031 instead, and room and board never belong on either code. Get the unit wrong and a whole month of revenue per resident can stall. Below, you'll find what the rate includes, how the claim moves, and a checklist to run before you submit.

Section
T1000-T5999 National T codes established for state Medicaid agencies
Category
T2030-T2031 Assisted living, waiver
Status
Active on the CMS October 2026 HCPCS file
Billable
No
Code also known as
Assist living waiver/month
Save time. Improve accuracy. Get paid faster.
Automate coding with Pabau

Let Pabau's smart automation suggest the right codes, reduce claim denials, and keep your practice compliant—effortlessly.

  • AI-powered code suggestions
  • Real-time compliance checks
  • Faster claims, fewer denials
Why practices choose Pabau
Save hours every week

Automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters most—your patients.

Improve accuracy

Reduce coding errors and ensure compliance with the latest regulations.

Get paid faster

Clean claims, fewer denials, and faster reimbursements.

Grow with confidence

Powerful insights and reporting to help your practice thrive.

HIPAA compliant SOC 2 certified GDPR-compliant Trusted by 4,000+ clinics worldwide

Key takeaways

Key takeaways

HCPCS code T2030 bills assisted living services under a Medicaid waiver at one unit per month, and Medicare never pays it.

States that price assisted living by the day use T2031, the per diem code, so confirm your waiver’s rate method before the first claim.

Waiver payments cover services only, so room and board must stay off the T2030 claim.

Common denials trace back to a lapsed authorization, a partial month billed as a full one, or eligibility that ended mid-month.

Billing software such as Pabau pre-fills each claim from the resident record and holds it until required fields, such as the authorization number, are complete.

HCPCS code T2030 pays for one month of waiver assisted living

HCPCS code T2030 is the Level II code for assisted living, waiver; per month. It reports one month of assisted living services for a person enrolled in a Medicaid home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver.

T2030 sits in the T-series, which the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) maintains for state Medicaid agencies. That is why Medicare does not recognize it.

Field Details
Code T2030
Official descriptor Assisted living, waiver; per month
CMS short descriptor Assist living waiver/month
Code set HCPCS Level II (T-series, national codes for state Medicaid agencies)
Payer Medicaid only (state fee-for-service or Medicaid managed care plan)
Program HCBS waiver, such as a 1915(c) waiver, that covers assisted living
Billing unit Per month
Per diem alternative T2031, Assisted living; waiver, per diem
Medicare billable No

Each state decides whether its waiver covers assisted living at all, who qualifies, and what the monthly rate is. The code only tells the payer which service was delivered, and over what period. So if you bill in several states, read each state’s waiver and billing manual on its own.

T2030 pays for care, never for rent and meals

T2030 covers the bundle of support a waiver participant receives while living in an assisted living residence. The state writes the exact service definition into its approved waiver. Treat the list below as typical, then check it against your own state’s wording.

Services states commonly bundle into the monthly rate:

  • Personal care, such as help with bathing, dressing, eating and toileting
  • Homemaker and chore support inside the residence
  • Medication oversight, to the extent state law allows
  • Social and recreational programming tied to the service plan
  • On-site staff available to respond around the clock

What stays off a T2030 claim:

  • Room and board, which federal rules at 42 CFR 441.310 exclude from HCBS waiver payments
  • Services the waiver lists and pays as separate line items, such as specialized medical equipment
  • Days before waiver enrollment starts or after it ends
  • Any claim sent to Medicare, which does not pay T-codes

The room and board split matters most. Residents usually pay for housing and food from their own income. Medicaid pays only the services portion under T2030. A monthly charge that blends the two invites a denial, or a recoupment months later.

Your state’s rate method decides between T2030 and T2031

T2030 and T2031 describe the same service at different units. T2030 pays one unit per month, and T2031 pays one unit per day. The state chooses the unit when it sets the waiver’s rate method. That means you don’t pick between them claim by claim.

Partial months are where the two codes collide. A resident who moves in on the 18th, or spends a week in the hospital, did not receive a full month of service. Your state’s billing manual says whether to prorate the monthly unit, switch to per diem billing, or hold the claim.

Pro Tip

Before the first claim, open your state’s approved waiver and read the rate section, which is Appendix I-2 in a 1915(c) application. It states whether assisted living is priced by the month or by the day.

Neighboring T-codes look alike in a code list

Several neighboring HCPCS T-codes describe other waiver services. Their descriptors read alike in a code list. Always pick the code from the full CMS descriptor, not the short label.

Code Official descriptor Unit How it differs from T2030
T2031 Assisted living; waiver, per diem Per day Same service, billed by the day instead of the month
T2016 Habilitation, residential, waiver; per diem Per day Residential habilitation, a separate waiver service with its own definition
T2018 Habilitation, supported employment, waiver; per diem Per day Job support in the community, unrelated to residential care
T2019 Habilitation, supported employment, waiver; per 15 minutes Per 15 minutes Same as T2018, billed in 15-minute units
T2020 Day habilitation, waiver; per diem Per day Daytime skills programming outside the residence
T2025 Waiver services; not otherwise specified (NOS) Not stated in the descriptor Catch-all for approved waiver services with no specific code
T2028 Specialized supply, not otherwise specified, waiver Not stated in the descriptor Supplies, not a residential service
T2029 Specialized medical equipment, not otherwise specified, waiver Not stated in the descriptor Equipment, not a residential service

The supported employment codes are a common mix-up. Job coaching for a resident goes on its own claim line, under T2018 or T2019. It never rides inside the assisted living month.

Bill one unit per month, at the rate your state sets

A T2030 claim line for one service month normally carries one unit. Two units for a single month will fail the payer’s edits. So will overlapping dates across two lines.

There is no national rate for T2030. Each state sets the monthly amount through its waiver rate method. Medicaid managed care plans may pay a different contracted rate. Read the figure from your state Medicaid fee schedule or your plan contract. Then recheck it whenever the state publishes a rate update.

State policy, not national rules, decides which modifiers go on T2030. The table lists HCPCS modifiers that states often require on waiver claims, with their official meanings.

Modifier Official meaning When it applies
U1 to UD Medicaid level of care 1 to 13, as defined by each state When the state uses level-of-care tiers to set different monthly rates
TF Intermediate level of care When the state identifies care intensity with TF
TG Complex/high tech level of care When the state pays a higher tier for complex needs
HH Integrated mental health/substance abuse program When the state tracks services delivered through an integrated program
HI Integrated mental health and intellectual disability/developmental disabilities program When the waiver serves people through an integrated MH and IDD program

The meaning of a U-modifier changes from state to state. U1 in one billing manual can mean a different tier, or a different waiver, in the next. Confirm every modifier with your state Medicaid agency or managed care plan before you append it.

Without a current authorization, the month goes unpaid

Assisted living under a waiver has to be authorized before it is paid. The approval usually runs through a case manager or the managed care plan, not the residence. If your team is new to this, a primer on how medical billing works shows where the authorization sits in the claim.

What the payer typically needs on file before the first month:

  • Active waiver enrollment for the resident
  • A level-of-care assessment that meets the waiver’s eligibility criteria
  • A person-centered service plan that lists assisted living as an approved service
  • An authorization number covering the service months you plan to bill

Authorizations often run for a set period, then need renewal. Track the end date for each resident. A month billed after the authorization lapses is denied as unauthorized. Retroactive approval is rarely available.

Six records back up every T2030 month

Auditors check that the month billed matches the month delivered. Keep these six records for each T2030 claim.

  1. Person-centered service plan: the current plan, signed as your state requires, listing assisted living and the resident’s goals, per 42 CFR 441.301.
  2. Residency record: move-in and move-out dates, plus any hospital or nursing facility days during the month.
  3. Service delivery records: personal care logs, medication oversight records and notes that show the planned services happened.
  4. Residency agreement: the lease or written agreement the HCBS settings rule requires for provider-owned residences.
  5. Provider enrollment and licensure: the residence’s state license and Medicaid provider enrollment, current for the billed month.
  6. Room and board record: proof that the housing and food charge was billed to the resident, not to Medicaid.

Store them inside a medical billing compliance process with locked, timestamped entries. A residency log edited after the fact is hard to defend in an audit.

Common T2030 denials, and the fix for each

Monthly billing concentrates risk. One denied line holds up a full month of revenue for that resident. These are the mistakes that cause it most often, and a denial management workflow catches them early.

Denial reason Root cause Corrective action
Wrong unit code T2030 billed where the state pays assisted living per diem, or T2031 billed where it pays by the month Check the waiver rate method and fee schedule before setting up the service
Partial month billed as full Move-in, move-out or a hospital stay during the month Apply the state’s partial-month rule from the billing manual
Missing or expired authorization The billed month falls outside the approved period Track authorization end dates and renew before they lapse
Eligibility ended mid-month Medicaid or waiver enrollment lapsed during the service month Check eligibility before each monthly claim
Overlapping services Another residential waiver service or a nursing facility stay billed for the same dates Review the resident’s other claims for the period
Room and board included The billed amount mixes housing and food with services Bill room and board to the resident separately
Missing or invalid modifier A state-required level-of-care modifier was left off or mismatched Keep a state-by-state modifier reference and check it at claim build

Pabau keeps each monthly waiver claim complete before it goes out

Many residences still assemble a T2030 claim by hand each month. Staff copy the authorization number, check the resident’s dates and re-key the code into a billing portal. One missed field sends a full month back as a rejection.

Pabau pre-fills the claim from the resident’s record instead. The code comes from its built-in HCPCS lookup library, so nobody re-types it. Pabau’s error-checking claims software also keeps the Send button locked until required fields, such as the authorization number, are complete.

Pabau claims management screen
Pabau’s claims screen keeps the code, authorization number and resident details on one claim, so each waiver month goes out complete.

In the US, claims go out through Pabau’s Claim.MD connection. It adds eligibility checks, claim status tracking and remittance posting. A quick eligibility check before each monthly claim catches a mid-month lapse before it becomes a denial. Your team then sends a clean claim the first time.

Send every monthly waiver claim complete

Pabau pre-fills T2030 claims from the resident record and holds them until the authorization code and other required fields are in place. Fewer months come back rejected.

Pabau claims management dashboard

Conclusion

Start with the unit your state pays. It decides whether T2030 or T2031 is the right code before any other rule applies. Then build each month around three records, namely the authorization, the residency dates and the room and board split.

A check of eligibility and authorization before each claim heads off the denials that cost the most. It takes a few minutes per resident, which is far less than reworking a rejected month. Book a demo to see how Pabau keeps assisted living waiver claims complete before they reach Medicaid.

Continue your research

Continue your research

Billing assisted living by the day? HCPCS code T2031 covers the per diem version of the assisted living waiver service.

Need guidance on managing claim rejections systematically? Denial management in healthcare covers how to build a structured workflow for tracking, appealing, and preventing common denials.

Want to understand what makes a claim pay first time? Clean claim submission outlines the elements every claim must have before it reaches adjudication.

Looking for an overview of Medicaid billing fundamentals? What is medical billing explains how claims move from service delivery through to payment posting.

Got a denial code back on a waiver claim? Denial codes in medical billing explains what each common code means and how to respond.

Frequently asked questions

Is T2030 still a valid HCPCS code in 2026?

Yes. T2030 has been in the HCPCS code set since October 1, 2003, and it remains active on the 2026 file. Only Medicaid programs pay it.

What place of service code goes with T2030?

Your state’s billing manual decides. POS 13 is the CMS code for an assisted living facility. Some states ask for a different code, or none, on waiver claims.

Do assisted living providers need an NPI to bill T2030?

Usually, but not always. HIPAA requires an NPI from covered health care providers. Some states enroll assisted living residences as atypical providers, which bill with a state-issued Medicaid ID instead.

How long do you have to file a T2030 claim?

Federal Medicaid rules cap the filing window at 12 months from the date of service. Many states and managed care plans set shorter limits, so track your payer’s deadline.

Does T2030 cover memory care?

Only if your state’s waiver includes it. Some waivers fold memory care units into assisted living services. Others cover them under a separate service with its own code and rate.

Does a T2030 claim need a diagnosis code?

Most professional claim formats require at least one ICD-10-CM code. Use the diagnosis that supports the resident’s level-of-care assessment, and follow any state rule on accepted codes.

×