Pabau Engage inbox

Pabau Engage is here: every patient conversation in one inbox.

Learn more
Book a demo Book a demo
HCPCS Code

HCPCS code P9020 Platelet rich plasma billing


Code Definition

HCPCS code P9020 is the Level II code for platelet rich plasma, each unit. It bills autologous PRP transfused to treat a coagulopathy for which PRP is indicated. Medicare contractors state plainly that it must not describe a PRP injection into a specific site.

So the code you report depends on what was done with the PRP. An injection into a tendon, ligament, or joint is reported with CPT 0232T alone. PRP applied to a chronic non-healing wound is reported with HCPCS G0465 or G0460 under NCD 270.3.

Level
Level II
Category
P9010-P9100 Blood and blood products, with associated procedures
Status
Active (2026 HCPCS Level II code set)
Billable
No
Code also known as
Autologous platelet rich plasma, each unit; PRP transfusion product code
Save time. Improve accuracy. Get paid faster.
Automate coding with Pabau

Let Pabau's smart automation suggest the right codes, reduce claim denials, and keep your practice compliant—effortlessly.

  • AI-powered code suggestions
  • Real-time compliance checks
  • Faster claims, fewer denials
Why practices choose Pabau
Save hours every week

Automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters most—your patients.

Improve accuracy

Reduce coding errors and ensure compliance with the latest regulations.

Get paid faster

Clean claims, fewer denials, and faster reimbursements.

Grow with confidence

Powerful insights and reporting to help your practice thrive.

HIPAA compliant SOC 2 certified GDPR-compliant Trusted by 4,000+ clinics worldwide

Key takeaways

Key takeaways

HCPCS code P9020 bills autologous platelet rich plasma, each unit, transfused to treat an indicated coagulopathy.

Medicare contractors state that P9020 must not describe the injection of PRP into a specific site.

A PRP injection into a tendon, ligament, or joint is billed with CPT 0232T alone, because 0232T already includes harvesting and preparation.

PRP for chronic non-healing wounds is covered nationally under NCD 270.3 and billed with G0465 or G0460, with no separate supply line.

Pabau pre-fills claims from the patient record, offers a searchable code library, and validates required fields before submission.

HCPCS code P9020 describes a unit of PRP, not a procedure

HCPCS code P9020 is the Level II code that CMS maintains for platelet rich plasma, each unit. The official descriptor reads: “Platelet rich plasma, each unit.” It sits in the P9010-P9100 range, which covers blood and blood products with their associated procedures.

The code bills autologous PRP transfused to treat a coagulopathy for which PRP is indicated. It is not the code for injecting PRP into a joint, a tendon, or a wound. That single distinction drives almost every P9020 billing decision you will make.

Field Detail
HCPCS code P9020
Official descriptor Platelet rich plasma, each unit
Code range P9010-P9100 Blood and blood products, with associated procedures
Code type HCPCS Level II (CMS-maintained)
Status (2026) Active
Product type Autologous (patient’s own blood only)
Billing unit Each unit of PRP transfused
Not reported for PRP injected into a specific site (see CPT 0232T, HCPCS G0465 and G0460)

The P-series is separate from J-codes, which cover drugs given by injection. It is separate again from G-codes, which cover procedural services CMS has defined itself.

P9020 sits with the transfusion products, so it describes a unit of PRP supplied for transfusion. Placing that PRP into a body site is a clinical act, and it belongs to a different code.

P9020 covers transfused PRP and excludes every site injection

P9020 applies when autologous PRP is prepared from the patient’s own blood and then transfused for an indicated coagulopathy. Medicare Administrative Contractors set this out plainly.

Noridian’s billing and coding article for PRP injections expects the code to be billed for units transfused in treating those conditions.

It then adds a warning in capitals: “This code MUST NOT be used to describe the injection of PRP into a specific site.” Other contractors publish the same instruction word for word.

  • Included: Autologous PRP prepared from the patient’s own blood and transfused for an indicated coagulopathy
  • Included: Each unit of that transfused PRP, counted per unit against the transfusion record
  • Excluded: PRP injected into a tendon, ligament, joint, or any other specific site, which is CPT 0232T
  • Excluded: PRP applied to a chronic non-healing wound, which is HCPCS G0465 or G0460 under NCD 270.3
  • Excluded: Allogeneic platelet products drawn from a donor, which carry their own P-codes such as P9019
  • Excluded: Synthetic or commercially manufactured platelet concentrates

Coders sometimes reach for CPT 86965 instead, which covers pooling of platelets and other blood products. That is a blood banking service rather than a product code, and it does not describe PRP. The two are not interchangeable.

One unit means one unit transfused, and the record proves it

One unit of P9020 is one unit of PRP transfused, and the transfusion record supports the count. CMS has published no volume definition for a single unit, so payer policies vary. Confirm the payer’s own policy before billing more than one unit for a single encounter.

Preparation itself starts with a venipuncture draw, usually 10 to 60 mL of whole blood, depending on how much concentrate is needed. The blood is centrifuged, often in two spins, to separate red cells from the platelet-rich layer. That concentrate is then collected and used during the same encounter.

Most PRP claims carry 0232T or a G-code, not P9020

Most PRP performed in an outpatient practice is not billed with P9020 at all. The code you report depends on what was done with the PRP, not on how it was prepared. Get that decision right and the rest of the claim usually follows.

Clinical scenario Code to report Why P9020 is not on the claim
PRP injected into a tendon, ligament, joint, or other musculoskeletal site CPT 0232T, reported alone 0232T already includes harvesting and preparation, and P9020 does not describe a site injection
PRP applied to a chronic non-healing diabetic wound HCPCS G0465 G0465 includes phlebotomy, centrifugation, administration, dressings, and all other preparatory procedures per treatment
PRP applied to a chronic non-healing wound that is not diabetic HCPCS G0460 G0460 is all-inclusive per treatment on the same terms as G0465
Autologous PRP transfused to treat an indicated coagulopathy HCPCS P9020 This is the code’s own indication, so P9020 is the correct line

The descriptor for 0232T reads: “Injection(s), platelet rich plasma, any site, including image guidance, harvesting and preparation when performed.” Harvesting and preparation already sit inside it. CPT also instructs that 0232T is not reported with any of the following:

  • 20550 and 20551, injection of a tendon sheath, ligament, or tendon origin
  • 20600 through 20610, arthrocentesis and joint or bursa injection
  • 20926, tissue grafts, other
  • 76942, ultrasonic guidance for needle placement
  • 77002, 77012, and 77021, fluoroscopic, CT, and MRI guidance for needle placement
  • 86965, pooling of platelets and other blood products

Adding P9020 to a 0232T claim does not recover the preparation cost a second time. It reports a transfusion product that was never transfused, which is why those lines are denied. Read the descriptors side by side and the overlap is obvious.

Matrix comparing PRP code descriptors
Only the bottom row belongs to P9020, so a supply line added above it bills work the payer already pays for. Source: the CPT and CMS descriptors for each code.

Here is how that plays out on a typical claim. A patient has blood drawn, spun twice, and the concentrate injected into the common extensor tendon under ultrasound. One line goes out: 0232T. No P9020 for the product, no 76942 for the guidance, and no 86965 for the spin.

Medicare covers PRP for wounds, and little else

Medicare does not cover PRP injections for musculoskeletal indications. Several contractors have published Local Coverage Determinations saying so, including L38745, L38937, L39023, L39058, L39060, L39068, and L39071.

Those LCDs address non-wound PRP and defer wound indications to the national determination below. None of them creates a jurisdiction-specific wound care exception.

Wound care PRP is covered nationally under NCD 270.3

Coverage of PRP for chronic non-healing wounds is national rather than jurisdictional. NCD 270.3, Blood-Derived Products for Chronic, Non-Healing Wounds, was implemented through CMS transmittal MM12403 and CR 12403.

For dates of service on or after April 13, 2021, CMS covers autologous PRP for chronic non-healing diabetic wounds for 20 weeks.

That coverage applies when the device used carries an FDA-cleared indication that includes management of exuding cutaneous wounds. Beyond 20 weeks, the contractor decides, and those claims carry G0465 with the KX modifier. Chronic non-healing wounds that are not diabetic also fall to contractor discretion, billed with G0460.

A diabetic wound claim should also carry two ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes, one for diabetes mellitus and one for the chronic ulcer.

Both G-codes are all-inclusive per treatment, covering administration, dressings, phlebotomy, centrifugation, and every other preparatory procedure. So no separate P9020 supply line exists under NCD 270.3, and adding one invites an unbundling denial.

Get the Advance Beneficiary Notice signed before the appointment

When a Medicare beneficiary asks for PRP for a non-covered indication, issue a signed Advance Beneficiary Notice (ABN) before the procedure. Without that signed form, the practice carries the cost and cannot bill the patient afterwards.

Which modifier goes on the claim depends on what happened:

  • Modifier GA: ABN on file, the practice expects Medicare to deny the claim and will bill the patient
  • Modifier GZ: No ABN was obtained, so the practice expects denial, accepts liability, and cannot bill the patient
  • Modifier GX: Notice given to the beneficiary for a voluntary, statutorily non-covered service

For any Medicare patient receiving PRP outside the NCD 270.3 wound care pathway, the ABN step is not optional. Collect the signed form before the service date and file it against the patient record. The billing team can then see it while the claim is being built.

Pro Tip

Run a payer check on every Medicare patient scheduled for PRP before the appointment. Record their coverage status against the patient file and attach the signed ABN the same day it is collected. A retroactive ABN is not valid, so the signature has to precede the service.

Commercial plans cover PRP narrowly, and Medicaid rarely at all

Commercial coverage for PRP is inconsistent and plan-specific. Where a plan does cover PRP injections, the claim is built on 0232T rather than P9020. Some Blue Cross Blue Shield plans, certain Aetna policies, and selected regional payers cover it.

Their policies name narrow orthopedic indications such as lateral epicondylitis or Achilles tendinopathy. Coverage usually turns on failed conservative treatment and documented clinical criteria. Running insurance eligibility verification before you schedule is the most effective step against a surprise denial.

Medicaid programs vary even more widely. Most state programs do not cover PRP at all. A small number publish wound care policies that follow the national Medicare determination. Verify the state fee schedule and the policy document before billing any PRP code to a Medicaid plan.

Before you submit a commercial PRP claim, work through this:

  • Request a benefits inquiry that names the exact code you will submit, whether that is 0232T, G0465, G0460, or P9020
  • Confirm whether prior authorization is required, since many plans that cover PRP require it
  • Document the prior authorization reference number in the medical record and on the claim
  • Check whether the plan has a clinical policy bulletin governing PRP indications

P9020 has no national rate, so the contractor prices it

CMS publishes no national allowed amount for P9020 in the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule. The code describes a blood product rather than a physician service.

The CMS Physician Fee Schedule lookup tool returns no payment rate for it. Where the contractor prices the code, that rate is set locally, so confirm it with your MAC.

PRP injections for Medicare patients raise a different question. Those are non-covered, so the practice bills its established charge and collects from the patient under a signed ABN.

Set that charge against the cost of preparation, which covers consumables, centrifuge time, draw supplies, and clinical staff time.

Scenario Coverage status Payment guidance
Medicare, PRP injection for a musculoskeletal indication Non-covered under contractor LCDs No allowed amount; bill the patient under a signed ABN, using 0232T on the claim
Medicare, chronic non-healing diabetic wound Covered nationally for 20 weeks under NCD 270.3 Paid under G0465; the KX modifier applies beyond 20 weeks at contractor discretion
Medicare, chronic non-healing wound that is not diabetic Contractor discretion Paid under G0460; confirm the contractor’s position before the course of treatment
Medicare, PRP transfused for an indicated coagulopathy Covered where the transfusion is indicated P9020 per unit transfused; contractor-priced, so verify the local rate
Commercial plans Indication-specific; prior authorization often required Plan-negotiated; ask for example remittances before treatment begins
Medicaid Generally non-covered, with state exceptions Verify the state-specific fee schedule before billing
Self-pay Not applicable Practice-set charge; itemize the procedure and supplies on the superbill

Non-covered services carry more write-off risk than paid ones, because the money has to come from the patient. Financial counseling before the appointment, a clear charge on the day, and a short collection cycle afterwards are what protect it.

The transfusion record is what separates P9020 from an injection claim

Audits on PRP are more common than on routine procedure billing, because non-coverage is the default and coding errors are frequent. So a defensible P9020 record has to show more than the charge.

Every record supporting a submission should carry these elements:

  • Transfusion record: Evidence that the PRP was transfused, including the number of units, since this is what separates a P9020 line from an injection claim
  • Clinical indication: The coagulopathy or condition that made PRP transfusion appropriate, supported by history, examination findings, and prior treatment
  • ICD-10-CM diagnosis code: A specific, billable code that establishes medical necessity, chosen by the coder from the documented indication
  • Preparation method: Confirmation of autologous preparation, the volume of blood drawn, the centrifuge method used, and the volume of PRP produced
  • Unit count justification: Clinical justification for each unit beyond the first, plus confirmation that the payer supports multi-unit billing
  • Provider credentials: The credentials of the ordering and performing provider, confirming scope of practice in the applicable state
  • Prior authorization reference: For commercial payers requiring it, the authorization number in the record and in Box 23 of the CMS-1500 form
  • Signed ABN: For Medicare patients where non-coverage is expected, a signed and dated form in the record before the service date

A clean claim populates every required field and links the diagnosis logically to the service. It also carries the code that matches what was done with the PRP. Miss any one of those and denial probability rises sharply.

Most P9020 denials trace back to one coding decision

P9020 claims carry a higher-than-average denial rate, largely because the code gets used for services it does not describe. The reason code on the remittance usually says which mistake was made.

Denial reason Common trigger Corrective action
Code does not describe the service P9020 billed for a PRP injection into a tendon, joint, or wound Report 0232T for a site injection, or G0465 and G0460 for a chronic non-healing wound
Unbundled supply line P9020 added to a 0232T or G0465 claim to capture the preparation cost Drop the P9020 line, since harvesting and preparation sit inside both descriptors already
Non-covered service Medicare claim submitted without an ABN modifier, or a commercial plan that excludes PRP Verify coverage before the service, obtain an ABN, and bill the patient with that form on file
Insufficient medical necessity documentation Record lacks diagnosis support, prior treatment history, or fails the payer’s clinical criteria Document the indication, the failed conservative treatment, and the clinical findings before billing
Prior authorization not obtained Commercial payer requires authorization and the procedure went ahead without one Request authorization before scheduling, then record the number on the claim
Incorrect unit count More units billed than the transfusion record documents Bill the number of units transfused and confirm the payer’s policy on multi-unit claims

Tracking denials across 90 days of PRP claims usually exposes one root cause behind most of the rejections. Map the reason codes on those remittances against the full list of medical billing denial codes to see which pattern your practice keeps hitting.

P9020 against the codes it gets confused with

Coders unfamiliar with blood product billing reach for the wrong code more often than not. The table below sets the scope of each one against P9020.

Code What it covers Key distinction from P9020
P9020 Autologous PRP, each unit, transfused for an indicated coagulopathy The reference code; a transfusion product line, never a site injection
0232T PRP injection at any site, including image guidance, harvesting, and preparation The injection procedure, reported alone; P9020 is never added alongside it
G0465 and G0460 Autologous PRP for diabetic and non-diabetic chronic non-healing wounds, per treatment All-inclusive wound codes under NCD 270.3, so no separate supply line applies
86965 Pooling of platelets and other blood products A blood banking service rather than a product, and not PRP
P9019 Platelets, each unit An allogeneic donor product; P9020 covers autologous plasma only
Q4150-Q4206 series Skin substitutes and amniotic tissue products for wound care Allogeneic tissue products, an entirely different category from autologous PRP

The authoritative source for P9020’s descriptor and status is the HCPCS Level II release file. CMS publishes it on the HCPCS quarterly update page, alongside the annual release. Check the current file rather than a third-party lookup tool, which can lag a quarterly change by months.

Pro Tip

Before each new billing year, verify P9020 against the CMS HCPCS Level II release file. Status and descriptor changes are not always publicized widely. Billing a revised or inactive code is an avoidable compliance risk, and it delays payment on legitimate claims.

Prior authorization attaches to the therapy, not to the code

Prior authorization applies to PRP as a therapy rather than to P9020 as a line item. Among the commercial payers that do cover PRP, the clinical criteria are fairly consistent.

Plans ask for a diagnosis drawn from their own list of covered indications. They also want evidence of failed conservative treatment over six to twelve weeks, plus the planned protocol.

No universal standard exists, though. Some plans require authorization for all PRP regardless of indication. Others apply it only to musculoskeletal use, and a few that cover wound care PRP run a streamlined pathway for diabetic ulcers. Build the request into scheduling and most last-minute claim holds disappear.

  • Confirm that the plan covers PRP for the planned indication before you start the authorization request
  • Reference the payer’s clinical policy bulletin for PRP in the request letter
  • Name the exact code the claim will carry, so the authorization matches the submitted line
  • Record the authorization number in the patient record and in Box 23 of the CMS-1500 form

How Pabau keeps PRP claims accurate from note to submission

PRP billing goes wrong where the clinical note and the claim stop matching. The clinician documents an injection into a tendon, and the claim goes out carrying a transfusion product code. Nobody notices until the remittance arrives weeks later.

Practice management software like Pabau shortens that distance. Claims are pre-filled from the patient record rather than retyped, so the treatment, the date, and the provider carry across as documented. Billing staff search the built-in code lookup library for the code they need and attach it to the line.

Required-field validation then holds back any claim that is missing information, before it leaves the practice. Coverage judgment stays with your billing team, where it belongs. What claims software for practices removes is the retyping, the missing field, and the line that describes something other than what was performed.

Pabau claims management screen
Pabau builds the claim from the treatment note, so a PRP charge leaves the practice carrying the code that was documented.

Build PRP claims straight from the clinical record

Pabau pre-fills claims from the patient record and gives billing staff a searchable code library. Required fields are validated before the claim is submitted.

Pabau billing workflow dashboard for HCPCS code management

Conclusion

P9020 is a narrow code with a wide reputation. It bills a unit of autologous PRP transfused to treat a coagulopathy, and nothing beyond that. The PRP work that fills most appointment books is an injection or a wound application, which carries 0232T, G0465, or G0460 instead.

Practices that get P9020 wrong are rarely misreading the descriptor. They are billing a supply line for a service that never involved a transfusion, and the clinical note said so all along.

Book a demo to see how Pabau builds a PRP claim from the note that documented it. Missing fields get flagged before the claim ever goes out.

Continue your research

Continue your research

Want a system for the denials PRP claims keep producing? Denial management in healthcare covers tracking, appealing, and preventing rejections across the whole billing operation.

Worried about audit exposure on non-covered procedures? Medical billing compliance explains the regulatory framework coders and billing staff work inside.

Need to read the reason code on a PRP remittance? Denial codes in medical billing maps CARC codes to the corrective actions that clear them.

Not sure what makes a claim clean on the first pass? Clean claim sets out the fields and checks that stop a submission bouncing back.

Billing PRP as self-pay? Superbill shows how to itemize the procedure, the supplies, and the diagnosis for the patient’s own claim.

Frequently asked questions

Is PRP for hair loss or facial rejuvenation ever billable to insurance?

No. Cosmetic PRP is not covered by Medicare, Medicaid, or commercial plans, so those treatments are self-pay. P9020 does not apply either way, because no transfusion takes place. Collect payment at the time of service and itemize the charge on the patient’s receipt.

Which ICD-10-CM codes support a PRP claim?

No ICD-10-CM code describes PRP itself. The diagnosis codes describe the condition being treated, so they come from the documented indication. A diabetic wound claim under NCD 270.3 should carry two of them, one for diabetes mellitus and one for the chronic ulcer.

Does an ABN apply when a commercial plan denies PRP?

No. An Advance Beneficiary Notice is a Medicare form and carries no standing with a commercial payer. Use your practice’s own financial responsibility form instead, signed before the service. It should name the treatment, the expected charge, and why the plan may not pay.

Can a P9020 denial be appealed?

It depends on why it was denied. Where the coding was right and the record supports the transfusion, appeal with the transfusion record and the indication attached. Where P9020 described the wrong service, an appeal will not succeed. Submit a corrected claim carrying 0232T, G0465, or G0460 instead.

×