Pabau Engage inbox

Pabau Engage is here: every patient conversation in one inbox.

Learn more
Book a demo Book a demo
☰
CPT Code

CPT code 36593 – Declotting of implanted vascular access device


Code Definition

36593 is the CPT code for declotting by thrombolytic agent of an implanted vascular access device or catheter. It covers instilling a drug such as alteplase into an occluded port, PICC or tunneled catheter, letting it dwell, then aspirating it and confirming patency.

The drug is billed separately, as J2997 for alteplase. Mechanical removal of obstructive material through the device lumen is 36596, not 36593, and a routine flush is never reported with this code.

Section
10004-69990 Surgery
Subsection
33016-37799 Cardiovascular system
Code range
36555-36598 Central venous access procedures
Billable
No
Code also known as
catheter declotting, thrombolytic catheter clearance, alteplase catheter treatment, port declotting
Save time. Improve accuracy. Get paid faster.
Automate coding with Pabau

Let Pabau's smart automation suggest the right codes, reduce claim denials, and keep your practice compliant—effortlessly.

  • AI-powered code suggestions
  • Real-time compliance checks
  • Faster claims, fewer denials
Why practices choose Pabau
Save hours every week

Automate repetitive tasks and focus on what matters most—your patients.

Improve accuracy

Reduce coding errors and ensure compliance with the latest regulations.

Get paid faster

Clean claims, fewer denials, and faster reimbursements.

Grow with confidence

Powerful insights and reporting to help your practice thrive.

HIPAA compliant SOC 2 certified GDPR-compliant Trusted by 4,000+ clinics worldwide

Key takeaways

Key takeaways

CPT code 36593 covers declotting an implanted catheter with a thrombolytic agent, never mechanical clearance or a routine flush.

It can be reported with 96413 on the same date when the note documents a distinct occlusion and a named thrombolytic agent.

When an NCCI edit applies, use modifier 59 or the X-modifier your payer’s NCCI guidance names, such as XU.

The note must capture the occlusion finding, the agent and dose, the dwell time, and confirmed patency afterward.

Pabau, the practice software we build, sends 36593 claims to thousands of US payers through its Claim.MD integration.

CPT code 36593: definition and clinical description

CPT code 36593 is defined by the American Medical Association (AMA) as: “Declotting by thrombolytic agent of implanted vascular access device or catheter.” The code covers instilling a thrombolytic drug into an occluded central venous access device (CVAD). The agent dwells to dissolve the clot, then it is aspirated and the catheter is confirmed patent.

Device types covered include implanted subcutaneous ports (port-a-cath), tunneled central venous catheters, and peripherally inserted central catheters (PICCs). The code is not limited to one catheter type, but the clinical record must confirm which device was treated.

What “thrombolytic agent” means for billing purposes

The thrombolytic agent requirement is what separates 36593 from 36596, which covers mechanical removal of obstructive material through the device lumen. Alteplase (Cathflo Activase) is by far the most commonly used agent. Urokinase has historical use but limited current availability.

The drug must be documented by name, concentration, volume instilled, and dwell time. A saline flush recorded as a declotting procedure does not support 36593, and payers deny it.

Official code descriptor and procedure details

The complete procedure sequence that supports CPT 36593 billing follows a standard protocol. Documentation should reflect each step to establish medical necessity and coding accuracy.

  1. Occlusion assessment: The clinician confirms the catheter is occluded or has significantly impaired flow. Resistance on flushing or inability to aspirate blood is documented.
  2. Thrombolytic instillation: Alteplase or another qualifying thrombolytic agent is instilled into the catheter lumen at the appropriate concentration for the catheter volume.
  3. Dwell time: The agent dwells for 30 to 120 minutes depending on institutional protocol and manufacturer labeling.
  4. Aspiration and flush: The agent and dissolved thrombus material are aspirated and discarded. The catheter is flushed.
  5. Patency confirmation: The clinician documents that blood can now be freely aspirated and the catheter flushes without resistance.

Missing any of these elements is the most direct path to a CPT 36593 denial, especially the drug name, dwell time, and patency confirmation.

What CPT 36593 includes and what it does not

Understanding the bundling boundaries of CPT 36593 prevents both under-billing and inappropriate separate reporting. The National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) governs which services are inherent to the procedure and which may be reported separately.

Service Bundled into 36593? Notes
Thrombolytic drug (alteplase) No, separately billable Report the drug with its HCPCS J-code, such as J2997 for alteplase. The procedure code does not include the drug cost.
Routine catheter flushing Yes, bundled Routine flushing is part of infusion services and is not billable as 36593. Without a thrombolytic agent, there is no code.
Blood specimen collection (36591) Generally not reported together 36591 is a blood draw from a completely implantable venous access device. Check the current NCCI edit and CPT parentheticals before reporting both on the same device and date.
Same-day infusion service (96413) No, separately reportable when documented May be billed separately when a distinct occlusion is documented and a thrombolytic was used. A routine infusion flush does not qualify.
Imaging guidance No, separately reportable if used Fluoroscopic guidance may be separately reported if documented as medically necessary and performed

CPT 36593 vs. 36596: choosing the right code

CPT 36596 covers mechanical removal of intraluminal (intracatheter) obstructive material from a central venous device through the device lumen. Removing pericatheter material, such as a fibrin sheath, through separate venous access is 36595. The method decides the code, so the choice comes down to what the note says cleared the occlusion, as the diagram below maps out.

Decision diagram for clearing a catheter occlusion
The clearing method, not the device, picks the code, and a routine flush earns none. Mapping is based on the AMA CPT descriptors for 36593, 36595 and 36596.
Code Method Key documentation requirement Common setting
36593 Thrombolytic agent (alteplase, urokinase) Drug name, dose, dwell time, patency confirmation Infusion center, oncology practice, home infusion
36596 Mechanical removal of intraluminal obstructive material through the device lumen Description of the mechanical method and the material removed, plus imaging guidance if used Interventional radiology, hospital outpatient
36595 Mechanical removal of pericatheter material, such as a fibrin sheath, via separate venous access The separate access site, the material removed, and imaging guidance if used Interventional radiology, hospital outpatient

Do not report both 36593 and 36596 for the same catheter on the same date. If a thrombolytic was instilled and it worked, use 36593. CPT instructs not to report 36596 with 36593. When a mechanical attempt follows a failed thrombolytic, check CPT Assistant and the NCCI policy manual before choosing the code.

Billing CPT 36593 alongside CPT 96413 for chemotherapy infusion

Yes, CPT 36593 may be separately reported on the same date as CPT 96413 (chemotherapy infusion, initial), but only when specific conditions are met. The answer hinges on documentation.

The clinical logic is simple. The catheter was occluded, a thrombolytic agent cleared it, and the chemotherapy infusion went ahead only once patency was restored. That sequence represents two distinct services. Routine flushing at the start of an infusion is different, and it is bundled into the infusion code.

Separate reporting rests on the current NCCI procedure-to-procedure edits and the CPT guidelines for the infusion codes. Check both before you submit, because the edit tables change every quarter.

  • Required to bill 36593 separately with 96413: a documented occlusion or severely impaired flow, and a named thrombolytic agent (not just saline). The note also needs a recorded dwell time and patency confirmed before the infusion started.
  • Not enough to bill 36593 separately: a routine pre-infusion flush, a saline lock, or a bare “catheter flushed before chemo” note with no occlusion.
  • NCCI edit status: check the current NCCI table for a column 1/column 2 edit between 36593 and 96413. If one applies, append modifier 59 or the X-modifier your payer’s NCCI guidance names, such as XU.

Coders in infusion and oncology settings meet several 365xx codes on the same day as 36593. The table below summarizes the ones most often confused, as a quick check against duplicate reporting. Port blood draws have their own rules, and the 36591 reference covers when that code stands alone.

Code Descriptor (summary) Key distinguishing factor
36561 Insertion of tunneled centrally inserted central venous catheter, with subcutaneous port Initial placement of a tunneled port, distinct from accessing or maintaining an existing device
36591 Collection of blood specimen from a completely implantable venous access device Blood draw only, with no infusion or declotting. Generally not reported with 36593 on the same device and date, so check the current NCCI edit and CPT parentheticals.
36593 Declotting by thrombolytic agent of implanted vascular access device or catheter Thrombolytic drug required, on a device already in place. Not for new insertions.
36595 Mechanical removal of pericatheter obstructive material (eg, fibrin sheath) from central venous device via separate venous access Material outside the catheter, removed through a separate access site
36596 Mechanical removal of intraluminal (intracatheter) obstructive material from central venous device through device lumen Mechanical removal inside the lumen, with no thrombolytic agent. Not reported with 36593.

Applicable modifiers for CPT code 36593

Modifier selection for CPT 36593 turns on two questions. Does an NCCI edit pair it with another code billed that day, and were the services genuinely distinct? According to the AAPC CPT code reference, modifier use on vascular access codes requires careful documentation support.

Modifier When to use Documentation required
59 (distinct procedural service) NCCI edit exists with a same-day code (e.g. 96413); confirms the declotting is a separate service from the infusion Documented occlusion finding, thrombolytic agent record, and a separate order for declotting. Do not append modifier 59 without them.
X-modifiers (e.g. XU) Use the X-modifier that matches the payer’s NCCI documentation, such as XU for an unusual non-overlapping service. XS (separate structure) rarely fits, because both services use the same catheter. Same support as modifier 59. Verify the payer accepts X-modifiers before substituting.
52 (reduced service) Declotting was attempted but not fully completed (e.g. partial patency restored, second dose not administered) Clinician note documenting partial completion and the reason. Reimbursement is reduced accordingly.

Warning on modifier 59 misuse: appending modifier 59 to every 36593 claim submitted alongside an infusion code is a common compliance error. The modifier is appropriate only when an NCCI edit exists AND the clinical circumstances genuinely support separate billing. Routine use without documentation support is a false-claims risk.

Pro Tip

Check the current NCCI Procedure-to-Procedure edits table on the CMS website before submitting a CPT 36593 claim alongside any 96xxx infusion code. NCCI edits update quarterly, so an edit relationship that did not exist in Q1 may be active in Q3. Always verify, never assume.

Medicare reimbursement for CPT code 36593: 2026 fee schedule

Medicare payment rates for CPT 36593 are determined by the Resource-Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS) and vary by geographic locality and place of service. The CMS Physician Fee Schedule lookup provides the current national rates; practices should use their specific locality multiplier for accurate budgeting.

Factor Non-facility (office) Facility (hospital outpatient)
Place of service impact Higher non-facility PE RVUs, because the practice carries the costs Lower facility PE RVUs, because the hospital is paid for those costs through the APC
Drug reimbursement Separate HCPCS J-code for alteplase, paid at ASP + 6% under Part B The hospital bills J2997, which is generally separately payable under OPPS. Check its status indicator in OPPS Addendum B.
Lookup source CMS PFS search (cms.gov), using POS code 11 (office) or 22 (outpatient) CMS Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) APC file

Commercial payer rates for CPT 36593 vary significantly from Medicare. Some payers reimburse at Medicare rates or a percentage of them, and others have negotiated fee schedules with no published reference. Always verify contracted rates through your payer portal before projecting revenue.

Pabau checkout screen showing a completed invoice with payer details
Pabau closes each visit with an invoice tied to the patient’s payer, so billing staff build the 36593 claim from a completed charge.

Documentation requirements to support a CPT 36593 claim

Every element below must appear in the health record before a CPT 36593 claim is submitted. Auditors and payers reviewing claims for this code are looking for the same checklist. Structuring a superbill documentation workflow around these fields prevents the most common documentation-related denials.

  • Occlusion finding: clinician documentation of catheter occlusion or severely impaired flow. Typical signs are resistance on flushing, inability to aspirate blood, or a flow rate below threshold.
  • Medical necessity statement: why the declotting procedure was clinically necessary (catheter is the patient’s only access; delay would interrupt scheduled treatment)
  • Specific thrombolytic agent: drug name, concentration, and volume instilled. “Alteplase 2 mg/2 mL instilled per lumen” is sufficient, but “thrombolytic agent administered” is not.
  • Dwell time: start time and end time of dwell, or total dwell duration
  • Clinician order: a signed order for the declotting procedure, separate from the infusion order if 96413 is also billed
  • Patency confirmation: post-procedure documentation that blood could be freely aspirated and catheter flushed without resistance
  • Device identification: catheter type (port, tunnelled catheter, PICC) and lumen treated

Validating these fields before billing is a core step in clean claim submission. It catches missing elements at the point of care rather than at denial.

Common denial reasons for CPT code 36593 and how to avoid them

CPT 36593 denials cluster around three root causes: missing documentation, NCCI edit conflicts without the right modifier, and payer coverage rules that differ from Medicare. The reason code on the remittance tells you which one hit, and our guide to medical billing denial codes explains each one. Building denial management workflows around these patterns prevents most rejections.

Denial reason Root cause Prevention step
Insufficient documentation Missing thrombolytic drug name, dwell time, or patency confirmation in the clinical note Use a structured declotting note template with required fields, and validate it before billing
NCCI bundling edit 36593 billed same day as 96413 without modifier; payer applies column 2 bundling rule Check current NCCI edits quarterly. When an edit applies, append modifier 59 or the payer’s matching X-modifier (e.g. XU) with supporting documentation.
Lack of medical necessity No documented occlusion finding, so the payer concludes a routine flush was billed as declotting Document the clinical indicator (resistance on flush, inability to aspirate) in every note that supports 36593
Wrong place of service The POS code on the claim does not match where the service was performed, which changes the RVU calculation Confirm the POS code at charge entry: office is 11, outpatient hospital is 22, and home is 12
Payer non-coverage Commercial plan or Medicare Advantage policy excludes 36593 or requires prior authorization Verify coverage before service with a real-time eligibility check. Check the Medicare LCD or the commercial plan’s medical policy before billing.
Incorrect 36593 vs. 36596 selection Mechanical method was used but thrombolytic code was submitted, or vice versa Code the method used, and train clinicians to document “thrombolytic agent” or “mechanical method” explicitly

Payer-specific requirements and prior authorization

Medicare Part B does not typically require prior authorization for CPT 36593 in a physician office or outpatient setting when medical necessity is documented. Other payers can differ. Insurance eligibility verification before each encounter should include a prior-authorization check, because Medicare Advantage plans operate under different utilization management rules than traditional Medicare.

Commercial payers vary considerably. Some publish medical or coverage policies that restrict 36593 to specific settings, such as hospital outpatient only. Others limit it to patient groups, such as active malignancy or home infusion dependency. A few require the attending physician to document why the catheter is being declotted rather than replaced.

Check the payer’s published policies and your provider manual before assuming coverage.

  • Traditional Medicare (Parts A and B): prior authorization is not typically required for outpatient 36593. Verify that no National Coverage Determination (NCD) restricts coverage for the patient’s device or condition.
  • Medicare Advantage: each plan sets its own prior-authorization rules, so do not assume a plan mirrors traditional Medicare.
  • Commercial payers: review the plan’s medical or coverage policy and the provider manual. Some plans allow 36593 once per catheter per episode without prior authorization and require it for repeat procedures.
  • Home infusion setting: payment may route through a home health benefit rather than the Part B physician fee schedule. Clarify with the home infusion pharmacy and payer before billing.

Billing compliance requires prior-authorization status to be confirmed and documented before service with every payer that may require it. Medicare Advantage and commercial plans cause most authorization denials for this code, so check those first.

Pro Tip

For home infusion patients, 36593 reimbursement often depends on whether the ordering physician or the home infusion agency submits the claim. Clarify the billing arrangement before the encounter. Misrouted claims are one of the most avoidable denial causes in this setting.

How claims management software reduces CPT 36593 denials

Most 36593 denials start in the note or at charge entry. A declotting note without a dwell time, or a 96413 claim sent without the modifier its NCCI edit needs, returns weeks later as rework.

Pabau, the practice management platform we build, keeps the declotting note, the charge, and the claim in one patient record. Its digital forms and clinical notes give staff set fields for the agent, dose, dwell time, and patency check.

Pabau’s medical claims management tools send claims to thousands of US payers through Claim.MD. Your team can run real-time eligibility checks before the visit, track claim status, and post ERA remittances without re-keying data.

Streamline infusion billing with Pabau

Pabau integrates with Claim.MD to submit CPT 36593 claims electronically to thousands of US payers. Real-time eligibility checks confirm coverage before the encounter, so fewer claims come back denied.

Pabau claims management dashboard

Conclusion

CPT 36593 gets paid when the note proves three facts: the catheter was occluded, a named thrombolytic cleared it, and patency came back. Leave one out and the claim reads like a routine flush, which payers treat as bundled.

That puts the fix with clinical staff rather than coders. Build the agent, dose, dwell time, and patency check into the declotting note, and check the NCCI edit before pairing 36593 with an infusion code.

Pabau sends those claims through Claim.MD’s clearinghouse with eligibility checked first, so fewer come back denied. Book a demo to see how Pabau’s claims tools help US practices reduce claim errors.

Continue your research

Continue your research

Need to understand the clearinghouse behind the submission? Medical claims clearinghouse guide explains how electronic claim routing works and what to check when claims stall.

Want to reduce your overall denial rate? Denial codes in medical billing covers the most common CARC denial reason codes and how to respond to each one.

Billing 837P claims for the first time? 837 file format guide walks through the transaction set structure required for electronic professional claims.

Frequently asked questions

What is CPT code 36593?

CPT code 36593 is the procedure code for declotting an implanted vascular access device or catheter by thrombolytic agent. It applies to ports, tunneled catheters, and PICCs. A drug such as alteplase is instilled to dissolve the clot, then aspirated, and patency is confirmed.

What is the Medicare reimbursement rate for CPT 36593?

The Medicare payment rate for CPT 36593 varies by geographic locality and place of service. Non-facility rates are higher because the practice carries the practice expense. Facility rates are lower because the hospital is paid for those costs separately. Use the CMS Physician Fee Schedule lookup at cms.gov with your locality to find the current rate.

Why do claims for CPT 36593 get denied?

The most common reason is insufficient documentation, such as a missing drug name, dwell time, or patency check. Others include an unaddressed NCCI edit with 96413, billed without modifier 59 or the matching X-modifier, and no documented medical necessity. An incorrect place-of-service code and unverified coverage or prior-authorization rules round out the list.

Is CPT 36593 bundled with other central venous access codes?

Some services are. CPT 36591, blood specimen collection from an implantable venous access device, is generally not reported with 36593 on the same device and date. Check the current NCCI edit and CPT parentheticals before reporting both. Routine catheter flushing is bundled, while the thrombolytic drug, such as alteplase under HCPCS J2997, is billed separately.

×